The Women’s March

This weekend I attended The Women’s March in New York City. I thought about trying to write a more technical post, and I could, as I am delving further into Node and rediscovering bootstrap. However, the march has occupied my mind and my newsfeeds all week. And here’s why I feel it belongs on my programming blog:

  1. The belief that women should have the same rights and opportunities as our male counterparts should not be a political issue at this point, but a commonly accepted truth.
  2. Programming is a field that is still predominantly occupied by men, and one in which women are frequently still paid and promoted less than their male counterparts.
  3. This field exists in no small part due to the pioneering work of female programmers, many of whom have been women of color, and that fact is only recently starting to become well-known.

So, a little tribute to a few of our programming foremothers.

Now everybody go see and read Hidden Figures.

Leave a comment