Getting into PHP

After beginning my job search, I noticed that a lot of open jobs that I was interested in required experience with PHP, which isn’t something I had used before this week. I decided that I wanted to get familiar with it, so I dove in and completed CodeSchool’s tutorials on “Try PHP”.

I was surprised at how easily I picked it up. Its syntax reminds me of AngularJS, but with brackets around each section that reminded me a lot of embedded Ruby (ERB). In fact, PHP, Ruby, and JavaScript were created within a year of each other. PHP stands for “Personal Home Page” and it has existed since 1994. It was originally  designed to be similar to Perl and C, with the purpose of adding advanced functionality to simple home and navigation pages. (actual facts courtesy of php.net/manual/en/history.php.php)

 

 

Leave a comment